Costa Rica Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.7
 Total  4.5

"Rustic charm"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Bobbi J. of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   March 20, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2019     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We felt right at home with Matthew and Leah. The lodge is unique, with charm and character, and tasty authentic Costa Rican cuisine. The view of San Jose was great. Matthew and Leah were knowledgeable about the area and watched the weather to recommend the best time to visit the volcano. It was the perfect start to a fantastic trip!

"Comfortable and friendly lodge"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jack F. of Texas, United States
Reviewed:   March 6, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2019     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Leah and Matt are great host and provide simple but comfortable and clean accommodations, great food and lots of helpful advice. Rooms have a sweeping view of the countryside and San Jose far below.

"Perfekte Unterkunft für Poas-Trip"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Martin H. of Meerbusch, Germany
Reviewed:   February 18, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2019     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Der Weg vom Flughafen zur Poas Lodge zieht sich und man glaubt kaum, noch irgendwo anzukommen, dann liegt die Lodge etwas unscheinbar am Wegesrand. Sie ist klein, sehr gemütlich, einfach, sauber und mit einer supertollen Aussicht gesegnet. Die Gastgeber sind supernett, hilfsbereit und kochen klasse! Frühstück ist prima. Von der Lodge aus ist man in 5 Minuten am Visitor-Center zum Poas, daher perfekt für eine frühe Besichtigung (die ist leider auch keine Garantie für gute Sicht auf den Krater, wie wir leidvoll erfahren mussten :-(
Insgesamt sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis und eine klare Empfehlung!

"Awesome experience"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   David C P. of Indianapolis, United States
Reviewed:   December 18, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A lot of love goes into this place. The commanding views of the Central Valley are amazing, spellbinding even. The food is out of this world good and so wholesome. Lovely rooms, all so nice and green up there. My 3rd visit and plan on staying again in 2019. Why not?!

"Traumhafte Lodge"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Monika B. of Berlin, Germany
Reviewed:   November 3, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Traumhaft gelegene Lodge mit toller Aussicht auf das Tal sowohl von den Zimmern als auch vom Restaurant. Frisch zubereitete Speisen nur für die Übernachtungsgäste.
Aufmerksame, hilfsbereite und super freundliche Besitzer, die die Lodge selbst betreiben.

"Great stay"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Sira H. of Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed:   October 14, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great hosts, very helpful with booking arrangements and all kinds of tips on Costa Rica. Amazing food. Its just a little hard to find if you arrive in the dark :)

"Delightful!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Andrea K. of Bremerton, WA, United States
Reviewed:   July 18, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and our adult son and I visited Costa Roca for the the first time in March! What a beautiful country! We had the pleasure of staying here on our second night and loved it! The views from the lodge are ever changing! Matthew and Leah were so kind and helpful - thanks for the great info regarding the rest of our trip! And the food was amazing!! Thank you for sharing your mountain top home with us! Your hospitality was top-notch and we hope to be back someday!

"Great Place to stay near Poas Volcano"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Richard D. of Knoxville, TN, United States
Reviewed:   July 16, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Matthew and Leah were wonderful hosts. If you are looking for personal care and friendly smiles, I can't imagine a place better than this. Not to mention the fabulous views and the great food. I particularly recommend the vegetable stew: Fabulous! Breakfast was also great, with a choice of U.S. breakfast or traditional Costa Rican breakfast (which, as we follow a gluten-free diet, we opted for). An easy drive to the Poas Waterfall Park, which was wonderful. We also recommend a stop at the Starbucks research and coffee production facility, literally on the way to or from the airport in Alajuela. We look forward to staying at the Poas Lodge on a future trip to Costa Rica!

"Excellent!!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Carlos B. of Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   June 15, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Loved the view, the location and the rooms. The service was amazing and Matt and Leah are stupendously nice people!

Super recommended for a romantic get away!

"superb view"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Irene W. of hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 23, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Comfortable stay in this homely lodge. It was a damp cool evening when we arrived but we soon warmed up next to the open fire. The lodge is under relatively new ownership and needs a bit of work but the couple running it are working very hard to make their guests comfortable and welcome.
The views from the lodge are unbeatable and we enjoyed watching a lightning storm in the distance behind San Jose whilst eating a delicious supper.


1 - 10 of 99 reviews  Next 10 results




CostaRicaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us